Nerdy Girl Confession

Deadpool and Dust

Posted on: April 5, 2016

A to Z Challenge – SUPER cross stitch

D is for Deadpool

IMG_2349_RESIZE_CROP

Deadpool is from weelittlestitches’ superhero alphabet sampler.

It’s the merc with the mouth! Deadpool is associated with the X-Men, introduced first as a supervillain, but later evolved into another antihero.

Breaking the fourth wall, Deadpool is known for his talkative nature – hence the nickname.

If you haven’t been living under a rock, then you know about the film Deadpool that premiered in theaters this past February. I could not stop laughing, and I could not stop smirking at my fellow moviegoers. So many older fans of the merc!

He made several non-voiced cameo appearances in the X-Men animated series, and Deadpool appears in the Ultimate Spider-Man cartoon series.

Deadpool appears in the animated film Hulk vs Wolverine, frequently annoying his teammates with his wisecracks.

Deadpool is another antihero that I love – I’m just a fan of the antihero!

 

D is for Dust

IMG_2385_RESIZE_CROP

Dust is from fangirl stitches’ girl power superhero comic book alphabet.

Another character that I knew nothing about until I started stitching her, Dust usually appears in X-Men related comic books.

Sooraya Qadir a.k.a. Dust is a mutant with the ability to transform her body into a malleable cloud of dust and control that form.

Dust appears in the single season run of the Wolverine and the X-Men animated series, which I have yet to see – but I have ordered it, and it should be on its way. She first appears as a captive of the Mutant Response Division, freed by Wolverine.

What I found most interesting about Dust is that she is considered a rare example of a Muslim comic book character portrayed in a a positive light. She was preceded in the X-Men realm by M, a Muslim woman of North African descent, and in the Marvel universe by Ms. Marvel, a 16-year-old Muslim girl from New Jersey.

3 Responses to "Deadpool and Dust"

Deadpool looks so cute!

[@samantha_rjsdr] from
Whimsical Compass

I know! The minis are all so super cute!

I was totally unfamiliar with the Dust character. Again, I’m more a DC guy than Marvel. I’m still hoping to see an appearance from one of my personal super heroes. Well, we have a long alphabet to go.
Deadpool, however, I am familiar with. Though I don’t recall ever reading any stories with him in it. I should look up that Hulk vs Wolverine he appears in. I think that would be a fun video to watch.

Leave a Reply

