Nerdy Girl Confession

Robin and Raven

Posted on: April 21, 2016

A to Z Challenge – SUPER cross stitch

R is for Robin

IMG_2496_RESIZE_CROP

Robin is from weelittlestitches’ superhero alphabet sampler.

When I hear the name Robin – I think of Dick Grayson, the first incarnation of Batman’s sidekick. He’s the Robin that I viewed on screen time and time again as a child on my Saturday mornings.

batman.the.animated.series.season.01.episode.40.screenshot.09

Feet off the dash, Dick!

Granted, Tim Drake, the third Robin, was also introduced to me through animation in The New Batman Adventures, which is a continuation of Batman: The Animated Series (personally I just categorize both as Batman: The Animated Series even with the obviously changed character design), where Dick had taken the mantle of Nightwing.

The identity of Robin isn’t directly obvious on Teen Titans, intentionally never referring to his full name. However, it is heavily implied that this particular Robin is Dick Grayson during a time travel episode, where Starfire meets a future Robin who has taken on the role of Nightwing.

the.batman.season.04.episode.01.screenshot.20

Now… we get some ice cream!

The Dick Grayson version of Robin appears in The BatmanΒ and Batman: The Brave and the Bold. In an alternate future story “The Knights of Tomorrow!” from Batman: The Brave and the Bold, Damian Wayne acts as the new Robin with Dick as the new Batman.

My introduction to Jason Todd, the second incarnation of Robin, was with the DC original animated film Batman: Under the Red Hood.

I actually investigated the storyline before the DVD was released for mass viewing – I had no idea that he was actually voted to be killed off by the readers until then.

I had only known of him before, but the animated movie introduced him as Robin through the events of his death and flashbacks/memories of his time as the caped crusader’s sidekick.

batman.the.brave.and.the.bold.season.02.episode.06.screenshot.07

You’re in MY way, Aquajerk!

Robin (Dick Grayson) is one of the main cast members in the animated series Young Justice. In season 2, set 5 years later, Dick Grayson as Nightwing leads the team and has been replaced as Robin by Tim Drake.

In episode 8 of season 2, a hologram computer image of what appears to portray a second Robin with features similar to Jason Todd in the Justice League pantheon for fallen heroes.

Carrie Kelly appears as Robin in the two-part non-canonical animated film The Dark Knight Returns.

Robin (Damian Wayne) appears in the DC original animated films Son of Batman, Batman vs. Robin, Batman: Bad Blood, and the recently release Justice League vs. Teen Titans.

The Robin costume has been donned at various times in the main DC Universe continuity by Dick Grayson, Jason Todd, Tim Drake, Stephanie Brown, and Damian Wayne.

 

R is for Raven

IMG_2489_RESIZE_CROP

Raven is from fangirl stitches’ girl power superhero comic book alphabet.

I love Raven! I was a teenager when the Teen Titans animated series premiered on Cartoon Network, and I was hooked! Of course, Raven was my favorite Titan other than Robin, which is kind of obvious considering my love for almost everything Bat-related.

Raven is an empath, which is a power that I have always loved. She has the ability to sense and alter the emotions of others. In the Teen Titans cartoon, Raven has very powerful empathic and telekinetic abilities, which are fueled by her emotions.

She is the daughter of a demon father and a human mother with the whole good versus evil dynamic built into her very DNA. Raven rules!

Raven appears in the Teen Titans animated series film adaptation Teen Titans: Trouble in Tokyo. She appears as a main character in the animated film Justice League vs. Teen Titans.

6 Responses to "Robin and Raven"

I see it’s Teen Titans day. There are so many versions of Robin, I tend to get confused.

I know, especially when there is only one canon female Robin. However, each of the male Robins have their one personalities – even as a kid watching The New Batman Adventures I noticed how different Tim was compared to Dick.

The codename is the same, but each Robin has definitely brought something different to the Bat family.

Love the cross stitch characters – super cute!

Nilanjana.
Ninja Minion, A-Z 2016
Madly-in-Verse

Thanks! I’m having a lot of fun, and I’m kind of a superhero nerd – well… I’m pretty much a nerd all around, but I love superheroes and they’re kind of high on my fandom list.

I was trying to work out what I’d done wrong with Raven’s costume in the pattern as it looked “off”… then I remembered you’re leaving the backstitch till after the challenge! πŸ™‚ Beautiful stitching, and very detailed descriptions of the characters πŸ™‚

Ros
Fangirl Stitches A-Z Cross Stitch Style
Travel like a Geek A-Z Harry Potter film locations

I know… some of the characters look a little “off” without the backstitching – I’ve been finishing up on the Scarlet Witch and I was seriously tempted to do some of the backstitch on her. However, I know it will throw off my flow and distract me with one character backstitched and the others not.

I’m definitely going to be doing some serious backstitching at the end of this month!

Thanks! Some of these characters have been my favorites for years, and others are completely new to me, which makes for some serious debate on comic book purchases in the near future. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

