Nerdy Girl Confession

Thor and Terra

Posted on: April 23, 2016

A to Z Challenge – SUPER cross stitch

T is for Thor

IMG_2512_RESIZE_CROP

Thor is from weelittlestitches’ superhero alphabet sampler.

The Mighty Thor! I will be honest – I was not very knowledgeable about the comic book God of Thunder until the movie came out back in 2011.

I’m kind of a mythology nerd – especially when I was a kid, but I never really connected the Norse mythology’s deity to the comic book Thunderer (being without comic books related to Thor). However, he has become near and dear to my heart.

Not only Thor himself, but the world and characters of Asgard have been revealed to my eyes like dimensional rifts in the sky.

avengers.earths.mightiest.heroes.season.01.episode.02.screenshot.01

How about some thunder!

Thor’s long-lived and physically the strongest of the Asgardians. He’s boisterous, and he’s a warrior through and through.

He’s an Avenger, a founding member to be exact, and Thor is capable of great feats of strength. He can only wield his mighty hammer, Mjolnir, if he is worthy of its power.

With Mjolnir, Thor has more than super strength, speed, and endurance. He can manipulate the weather and electricity, transport through dimensions, and last but not least – FLY!

avengers.earths.mightiest.heroes.season.01.episode.10.screenshot.05

I have the POWER!

Thor stars as main cast member in The Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Heroes and Avengers Assemble. He appears in the Ultimate Spider-Man cartoon, Hulk and the Agents of S.M.A.S.H., and the animated series Guardians of the Galaxy.

Thor appears in the animated films Ultimate Avengers, Ultimate Avengers 2, and Thor: Tales of Asgard. He appears in the direct-to-video short film Hulk vs. Thor, and he makes a brief appearance in Planet Hulk.

 

T is for Terra

IMG_2532_RESIZE_CROP

Terra is from fangirl stitches’ girl power superhero comic book alphabet.

Now, the Terra that I know is not this particular Terra (Granted, the Teen Titans cartoon portrayed Terra as more a tragic heroine rather than an irredeemable villainess – but she is definitely depicting Tara Markov’s Terra). This is Atlee, the third Terra, who is introduced in Supergirl #17 (January 2007).

Apparently, Atlee (Terra) is a member of an alien race called Stratans who live below the Earth’s surface in a massive subterranean cave called Strata, which is actually the empty spacesuit of a long dead cosmic extraterrestrial. She possesses a rare mutation granted by a unique ore called “quixium” that grants her the earth powers she wields.

I didn’t know about any other Terras before I stitched her – I was curious if this character design was an update or if she was a completely different character. She’s still Terra, she’s still DC, but she’s not the Terra that I’ve known, which is still SUPER cool!

So many code names are reused – sometimes to continue a legacy, and other times simply because some powers are so similar. Regardless, I’m pretty impressed by this Terra – she’s a peppy nerd, who’s completely innocent about surface life and whose love for “pop culture” knows no bounds. She’s not broody and somber like the original Tara.

7 Responses to "Thor and Terra"

I’ve never been that familiar with Terra, outside of what I’ve seen on the Teen Titans cartoon. I was never a big fan of Thor in the comics either, but I do love him in the films he’s been in recently.

That was the only Terra I’d seen myself. Hence, the brunette Terra throwing me off – it was interesting to learn about this particular Terra though.

I love Thor in the recent Marvel movies and animated series, but I’ve never read any of his comics.

I’ll let you in on a secret – this was the only Terra I could find more than one clear picture of, so just assumed she was the main one 😉 I’ll have to have a more thorough look into the other Terra and update the pattern 🙂

Ha! Love the secret! That is SUPER cool about updating the pattern – I look forward to it! I love your patterns if you couldn’t tell.

I’m in love with your posts. They’re fabulous. I love both the Marvel and DC universe, but am not extremely fluent with the characters or their appearance in the various issues. Your posts are so comprehensive, and it gladdens me how you’ve presented a male and female superhero for each alphabet. I know I will keep finding my way back to your blog.
[@samantha_rjsdr] from
Whimsical Compass

Thanks! It kind of just happened with the male and female superheroes being represented on so many of the posts – it worked out with stitching the girl power superhero comic book alphabet.

I had to stitch that girl power alphabet – gotta represent us ladies!

Absolutely! More power to you. 😀

Leave a Reply

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

DeviantArt – NicMarRay

nicmarray

Another baby on the way for my friend #crossstitch #NERDpillo she's going to expect them for every offspring now... but yay, warcraft birth record Pattern 4 of the Sailor Moon Stitch-along #sailormoon #stitchalong #crossstitch #8bitstitching Stitching a sailor a day. A friendly desert community where the sun is hot, the moon is beautiful, and mysterious lights pass overhead. #podcast #book #novel #wtnv Purchased it the other day!

Creative Licensing

